TTT – Taiwan – Tokyo – Toddo

Posted: January 3, 2011 in Travel

2011年1月3日

Right now I’m sitting in my room, having lunch at 3pm with my doors wide open even though it’s slightly cool, because I want to listen to my town. How I’ve missed my town. But how long will this feeling last..? Anyway, lets not think about that as I don’t want to gets my hopes down or something drastic like that…

…moving along…

So as my previous post implies, I left for Taiwan and had a superfragilisticexpialidotical time (is that even a word? maybe. do I care? no.) I ate non-stop for the entire time I was there. Fruit was super cheap!! I wanted to buy a whole fruit store and pack it in my bag and bring it back to Japan with me, but I know my attempts would end with a fail, not because it’s impossible to pack a fruit store into my bag, but because customs would stop me and put it in the bin before I could get to the gate where my plane would be waiting for.

Anyway, I was able to meet up with my friend Jason who I had met in Armidale and Fiona who I had met in Sydney. We travelled to the night markets, to various tourist attractions such as a house which got over grown by a tree and turned into a “must see” thing, and other such things one does when in a new country.


I have already decided to go back, because I didn’t even visit Taipei. I only flew into there and out again.

Anyways, my time in Taiwan turned sour as my friend drove away after dropping me off at the airport. He lives 3 hours away by car, so of course after driving me all the way to the airport, I didn’t want to delay his journey going home so we had a quick “bye-bye” chat and then we parted ways. Only when I walked inside the airport to get my plane ticket and passport out did I realise that I had neither, nor the bag that they were inside of! My bag was still on the back seat of Jason’s car!!! I didn’t have his mobile number and I didn’t have his house number. I didn’t have Fiona’s number, though I had given her mine the day before. I didn’t have money, so I couldn’t find a computer to use the internet, which meant that I had to use my iphone in Taiwan (and I hadn’t organized for international roaming so god knows how high my phone bill will be), log on to facebook.. leave messages on their “walls” with no avail. Luckily one of Fiona’s friend’s decided to add me on facebook, with whom I could leave a message with, she then called Fiona who then called Jason (who didn’t pick up). Jason had already driven 1.5 hours home when i decided to check his phone and got messages to come back to Taipei Airport. Needless to say, I missed my flight, I had to pay a LOT of money for a new ticket and learnt a very important lesson. It’s common sense to keep your passport on you at all times, and I’ve learnt the hard way. But I still made it to Tokyo.

Tokyo 東京

I love this place. It has to be one of my favourite cities that I’ve been to so far. There is so much to do, so many things to see, so many interesting people to see, so much more openness and, and, and, just so much!
One of my favourite places to go to is Harajuku.

A place where people can truly express themselves without having to fear being publicly ashamed or hated or bullied. Not only do I love looking at the people that make this street awesome (it’s not like it’s a hobby or anything) but I also love the clothes! If they made more clothes a little longer in the legs and a little longer in the arms then I would be set for life. I would only need Harajuku for my clothing needs!

So.. after shopping in Harajuku, I also found “Top Shop” an English brand of clothing which I have never seen in Australia or America, and my friend brags about having Top Shop in London, so when I found it, I just had to enter and buy something. Of course I didn’t have to buy something, but I’m not planning to go to London until 2012年 so, I don’t really want to wait that long.

Anyway, fun was had by me… and now I’m waiting for my clothes to dry so that I can pack them in my bag before I jet off to Kagoshima 鹿児島 tomorrow morning.

*mental note to self – save more money for emergencies*

Leave a comment